Ranting and disputing and disagreeing, oh my.

I am getting so tired of mainstream media and their constant abuse of photoshop editing. I am getting tired of the notion that if I have stretch marks or cellulite or for god’s sake, even dark circles under my eyes that I am not beautiful. I have something to say to you, IT’S CALLED LIFE. Want to sell me your new BB cream or moisturiser, then use a human being that doesn’t deserve to have his/her dignity in question and their body smoothed and flattered to pander to the magazine or advert executives. We are creating a distorted view to the younger generations who are going to grow up in a world believing that they are not worthy because they have a blemish or they are ‘’overweight’’ 

We are already in a world where a young woman is being heckled and chastised because she decided to have her model photographs unedited. Can you believe this, she is a size 10 and these people called her fat. I’m trying not to be preachy, I understand that we are biology and we are all different shapes and sizes, but what happened to decency? What happened to acceptance? I know we have come to accept that photoshop is a part of the fashion and media world, but why should it have to be? There is nothing more beautiful and graceful than a person who is their true genuine self. It is raw, it is powerful and compelling. Show me a model that has life in her face and body, a face that shows experience and a story.

 I am going off on a tangent here, but the point I think I’m trying to convey is that as human beings we are flawed, and it’s okay. Perfection is dull, dry and unstimulating. Be proud of who you are and give two fingers to the establishment that is trying to sell you amelioration and improvement.

 You are all beautiful just as you are.

Leave a Reply

