[Bea] The Happiness Diet 

[SAPPY ALERT! SAPPY ALERT!] 

In August 2015 I met the love of my life; he suddenly appeared in my life as a drop-dead gorgeous 5’’11 bearded, long-haired beauty. I never thought it was possible to experience this type of selfless and blissful love, to feel genuinely this happy.

 Before I met him, I had been contently single for nearly 10-12 months (after a few disastrous dating miss-haps), living by myself and milling around without a care in the world. A true ‘miss-independent’. However, during all of this, I somehow managed to slip down to an unnatural size 6-8. A fast metabolism maybe? Unintentionally skipping meals? Who knows, but I embraced this change in me for a while, buying fitted clothing and relishing my smaller waist.

 Fast-forward to August, I’ve met him and we’re dating. Along comes the ‘I love yous’ and not long after ‘I know you’re the one’ and everything in my life changed. I was skipping to work with a beamy smile on my face, telling anyone who would listen (and often exasperating my friends ;D) how wonderfully happy I was. Without even realising my small 6-8 waist gradually became a size 10.

 It was strange how sudden I had put on the weight, but I knew it was because I was happy. Initially I tried to fight it, but after time I began to understand that I was back at my natural weight. I am still exercising and eating right and I feel fantastic. My friend Toni eloquently summarised that it was ‘the happiness diet’.

 I think the point I am trying to convey is that if you keep yo-yoing between sizes, don’t fight it and embrace your natural beauty. It took love for me to love myself for who I am. I wish that I could have realised this on my own terms, but who am I to question the universe? It is what it is. Wholeheartedly accept that who you are is a gorgeous, engaging human being.

 

Je suis beautiful; be excellent to each-other ^~^ 

Leave a Reply

