[Toni] When ‘health’ becomes an obsession

I’ve just read this:

“Another 1000 calorie workout today and I was fasting!! Felt a little unwell half way through but managed to carry on. Hope I’m even now with the food but will do another 1000 calorie workout this week or maybe another 2 !! But keeping it light tomorrow with just lower body”

I’m seeing far too many sentences like this lately. I think when people focus on calorie intake and calories burned more than enjoying food and fitness, it becomes an unhealthy obsession.

Of course you might end up doing a workout that does burn 1000 calories but in my opinion, it should be something you find fun and you didn’t plan to burn that much. And then you should eat enough food to give you energy for it. I don’t think that planning these workouts 3 or 4 times a week on a low calorie diet is that healthy for you to be honest.

Life is short, you never know what’s around the corner. Eat the food you love and what makes you feel good. Never get to the point where you feel faint and weak (please!). Even as I am writing this I feel a bit low on energy, so guess what? I’ll eat a snack! Apple and greek yoghurt, yummy.

Do exercise that you find fun! I went to Zumba last night and it helped me decide to quit the gym. The gym is boring! But if you love it then you stick at it, everyone is different!

JUST DON’T OBSESS. It’s not worth it.

Leave a Reply

