Mangoes, the gym and broccoli, oh my! 

I seem to be apart of the majority of people that can scoff food down like starving pig that has escaped onto a buffet table, almost like a duck, I don’t even need to chew ;D but barnyard analogies aside, I do this without even thinking about the implications to my insides. I used to get heart palpitations, dizzy spells and short breath. I knew that something needed to be done, so, I threw away the junk food (sob!) and joined the gym. 

Prior to the gym, I could easily devour a whole milk tray or a tub of ben and jerrys and this would be pretty much every night, after dinner, which would consist of a ready meal from Morrisons and not a healthy option either; macaroni cheese, chicken korma and pizza every week. I was a ticking time bomb of low to moderate exercise, starchy carbohydrates and fat. No wonder my health was suffering!

I walk to work every morning (40 minutes which I walk to with Death Metal blasting my eardrums) and on my jolly I go past a gym. Like a siren song, it started to call me, and every day I would get a little closer to just mending my bad habits and start again fresh. Junk food has a powerful hold over me. Alas, I had to put my heart and my health over my taste buds and weak-willed brain.

I got home one afternoon after a sunny walk in the woods with my BFF Toni and that was it, I had enough. I had my last meal of stuffed crust pizza and a pint of ice-cream and I vowed then that I would be good. I CAN BE GOOD. I went food shopping the next evening and bought fresh broccoli, sliced greens, carrots, squash et al and instead of chocolate and ice cream I snacked on mangoes, grapes, pineapple, nuts and summer mixed berries. Fresh lean meat and fish instead of processed meat. I won’t lie to you, the transition has been slow and sometimes I’ve stared longingly at the frozen desert section at Tesco’s wishing I could take three tubs home with me, but I am being strong and my resolve is stubborn.

Going to the gym three times a week has been surprisingly enjoyable! I’m a little annoyed at myself that I didn’t go sooner, but you live and learn. I have loved beating the crap out of the cross-trainer and pushing myself to go to higher levels on the stair mountain and just generally slowly turning my body into a machine.

I will occasionally let myself eat a pizza, because let’s face it, life is too damn short, but I am now aware that I can’t do this every night. I want to be alive to see my grandbabies and not keel over at 41 from a blocked valve in my heart.

My progress is slow and steady, but this is a new chapter in my life and I look forward to adding milestones on this lovely little blog. And I implore our readers, if you are in a similar situation to what I was in, just take a step backward and take a deep look at your eating habits, it doesn’t matter if you’re thin, fat or in the middle, what you eat becomes you. I want you all to have a long and happy life 🙂

Leave a Reply

